East Beechboro Primary School

Our Values and Beliefs about Teaching and Learning. 

This document reflects the School’s values and beliefs in respect to numeracy and literacy.


We use maths every day.  Young children learn maths through daily activities such as cooking, shopping, gardening and through play.  These activities also involves shapes, direction, position and measuring.

You can help your child build their confidence and develop strong maths skills by including fun and easy activities into their daily routines.  Support from you at home can often make the difference between children enjoying maths at school or being anxious about it.  For more information on how you can help your child with maths, please view the following resources produced by the Department of Education.


A large part of our everyday lives depends on reading.  Watching your children become confident readers and sharing their learning journey with them is a wonderful experience.

Reading opens children’s minds to a whole range of ideas and activates their imagination and creativity.

Writing and Spelling. 

Writing and spelling are essential skills for children to learn.

We know the more involved you are in helping your children learn these skills, the happier and more confident they are at school.

For more information and on how you can help your child visit the Department of Education's website for year level specific resources. 

Western Australian Curriculum. 

The Western Australian Curriculum is designed to help all young Western Australians to become successful learners, confident and creative individuals, and active and informed citizens. Presented as a developmental sequence of learning from Foundation - Year 10, the Western Australian Curriculum describes to teachers, parents, students and others in the wider community what is to be taught and the quality of learning expected of young people as they progress through school.

The three-dimensional design of the Foundation – Year 10 Western Australian Curriculum recognises the importance of disciplinary knowledge, skills and understanding alongside general capabilities and cross-curriculum priorities.

Disciplinary knowledge, skills and understanding are described in the eight learning areas of the Western Australian Curriculum: English, Mathematics, Science, Health and Physical Education, Humanities and Social Sciences, The Arts, Technologies and Languages. The latter four learning areas have been written to include multiple subjects, reflecting custom and practice in the discipline. In each learning area or subject, content descriptions specify what young people will learn, and achievement standards describe the depth of understanding and the sophistication of knowledge and skill expected of students at the end of each year level or band of years

Implementation of the Western Australian Curriculum at East Beechboro Primary School as outlined in the school’s Business Plan 2020-2022.

There are three key design features of the Australian Curriculum:

  • Learning area content descriptions and achievement standards.
  • General capabilities.
  • Cross-curriculum priorities.

General Capabilities:

  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • ICT
  • Critical and creative thinking
  • Personal and social competence
  • Intercultural understanding
  • Ethical behaviour

Cross-curricular priorities:

Aboriginal/Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures

Asia and Australia’s engagement with Asia


CLICK HERE to view the Western Australian Curriculum

WA K-10 Syllabus. 

The WA K-10 Syllabuses are advisory materials.  They provide support for teachers with the implementation of the WA Curriculum.  The syllabuses detail content at each year of schooling and phase of development from kindergarten to year 10.  Syllabuses are provided for Early Childhood (K-3), Middle Childhood (4-6) and each learning area in Early Adolescence (7-10).  When using these advisory materials, teachers make professional judgements about when to introduce content, based on students’ prior learning and achievement.

CLICK HERE to view the K-10 Syllabus